Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program
On June 1st, 2012, “The Nutmeg State” legalized the use of medical marijuana when the state’s legislature and Governor signed off on making the drug legal to users in need.
Patients who are certified to use medical cannabis or their caregivers can possess up to a one month supply. Additionally, users can get their medicine from pharmacy dispensaries that are authorized by the state.
Requirements For a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut:
To apply for a medical marijuana card in Connecticut, you must meet the following criteria:
- You must be a resident of Connecticut.
- You must receive a written recommendation from a qualified physician as having a condition that may benefit from the use of medical marijuana.
- You must be 18 years or older.
- You must obtain a card for medical marijuana from the state of CT.
- Note that inmates in a CT correctional institution will not qualify, regardless of their medical condition.
Under Connecticut’s medical marijuana law, patients may be recommended marijuana for the following conditions:
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
- Wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic stress disorder
How to Apply For a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut:
Beginning in October of 21012, qualifying patients can apply for temporary registration certificates from the Department of Consumer Protection. There is a $25 maximum registration fee.
Renewal Requirements For Medical Marijuana Patients in Connecticut:
- Provide proof that you still live in Connecticut.
- Provide an updated photograph.
- Complete the five certifications at the end.
- Pay a one hundred ($100.00) dollars registration fee.