Colorado Medical Marijuana Program
In 2012 voters approved of a measure that allows for users aged 21 and older to have up to an ounce of marijuana on their person. Included in the measure were specifications on cultivation, manufacturing and sale, essentially regulating marijuana statewide.
Requirements For a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado:
To apply for a Colorado Medical Marijuana Card, you must meet the following criteria:
- You must be a resident of Colorado
- You must obtain a copy of your medical records, which indicate that you have been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition
- You must receive written documentation from your physician, which suggests that you may benefit from the use of medical marijuana
Under Colorado’s marijuana law, patients may be recommended medical marijuana for the following conditions:
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Severe nausea
- Severe pain
How to Apply For a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado:
You need to complete the entire Colorado Medical Marijuana Registration Application. Take care in making sure it is completely filled out, including the sections that must be filled out by your doctor.
Then, go to the southeast entrance of Building C of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. There you will find a drop box to mail your application with a $35 application fee (personal check or money order). Here is the address of Building C:
710 South Ash
Denver, Colorado 80246-1530
Renewal Requirements For Medical Marijuana Patients in Colorado:
Patients in the state of Colorado must annually renew, with the process and fee being the same as it is for new applicants. You’re recommended to begin the process 45-60 days before your card’s expiration date.